As I was walking through the woods one day I came across a snake. Not your usual everyday snake. This was an aggregating snake.
For those unfamiliar with the breed here is a short summary: They operate very stealthy, crawling through the blogosphere snatching content leaving the original owner completely unaware of their visit. Before I continue should say their are “good snakes” around NASCAR Shop Talk is one, Topix Net is another.
BUT this snake (”Scientific name” XB90 - Blogging Network, A/K/A John Ross) is an asshole of the first order. His “network” was caught aggregating entire blog posts and creating content for his “network.” In the cases of Full Throttle and Church of the Great Oval without prior notification or permission. I believe that is also the case for Dustin Marson’s NASCAR Blog but the snake has since dropped the links to it. He/it has also taken content from NASCAR Napper, NASCAR News and NASCAR News on the Web although I can’t ascertain whether any notification was given to the owners.
Anyway, to make a long story longer the snake shed his skin when a trace route revieled his location and server. A DAMN sight more info then any of his “network” pages contain that are completely devoid of ANY contact information. What follows is a verbatim copy on an Email received from the snake after an Email of complaint was sent to the abuse dept of his domain registrant. The complaint was forwarded to him because of the previously noted lack of courtesy, common sense and having a brain the size of a snow pea. All of which, if possessed in the slightest amount, would have allowed the snake to post his contact information.
Without further adieu, here is his respionse to getting his forked tongue caught in the cookie jar: (Boldface is my response to his points and cover the eyes of any children close by - I’M PISSED)
Hi Marc,
I was just forwarded your email (below) and want to address your concerns.
It would appear you became aware XB90 aggregating your great articles in our Nascar News & Information site http://nascar.xb90.com. I personally think that you guys are great bloggers’ and deserve the notoriety and exposure. We simply aggregate RSS syndication feeds so people can see the big picture of what’s happening with a topic and then visit the blogs that most interest them my [sic] click on the link immediately after the article.
Yea it would appear that way asshole. What gave you the first clue I “became aware”, your host jumping your ass? REALLY, you “simply aggregate RSS syndication feeds.” Well riddle me this fuckface: If it is an RSS feed you grab why is it my stolen posts contain the “related posts” section? They ONLY appear on my individul archive pages NOT my RSS feed! And BTW, the “link immediately after the article,” leads nowhere but a circle jerk within your own “network. Additional you have splogged our blogs categories as well. What the hell kind of RSS feed are they included in! And the ONLY links to the stolen sites are in your sidebar. We don’t even get credit for the comments left on OUR posts. Hit the comment link of OUR POST and it takes you to YOUR SITE.
In the rush up to the holiday season the nascar site went live before we asked your approval aggregating your site. Without getting into all the details of it basically we were hacked between Dec 21 - 24 ( can be verified by our hosting company) and this hack caused several of our new syndication sites to go live before we had made contact with the authors, plus several other issues.
Hacked is it! Between 21-24 Dec you say. NEWSFLASH prick, better check this post of mine that you scraped. It’s dated 15 Dec! Can I presume your “several other issues” might be a strong propensity to insult the intellengence of those you address Emails to?
We are not trying to do any thing that would cause problems and as you see we have the content from you that we syndicate always point back to you and give you full credit for the article.
Earlier today emails were sent to all involved requesting approvals. No sooner had this been done, I received your email that had been addressed to grstirling. I would like to apologize for any confusion or misunderstanding. Below is a copy of the email that was sent out.
My name is John Ross and I am the editor of XB90 a news and information portal. We recently added your RSS feed to our XB90 site http://nascar.xb90.com
Recently my ass - see note above!
In doing so we have recently started to syndicate your RSS feed with link backs to your site. An issue has just been brought to my attention, for some reason we added your site without your approval. Although we attribute all posting back to the original site and use the Fair Use doctrine of the copyright act, I wanted to bring this to your attention and get your approval to syndicate your content and include it in our aggregation site.
A high quality blogger like yourself deserves the promotion and recognition. With XB90 now syndicating you, we are now spreading the word about your great content. You will benefit with increased traffic and readers. With the vast number of blogs and websites it is difficult for people to find great content, your site/blog is well written and you are offering the reader articles that are in our opinion some of the best available on the topic.
No pal - no that’s being too kind - NO dickweed I don’t deserve your attention or your efforts to publicize my blog. And kissing my ass won’t get you anywhere, its been smooched by the best and you hardly rate in that category. My I ask just how much traffic your scam will generate for MY SITE? Just how important is the “xb90 Blogging network?” Don’t answer that, I have the answer! Not very important if you ask Google. The fact of the matter is a Google search turns up nothing on your “network” but more reports of stolen material, ill feelings and this long piece that first reported you being shut down. But as we both know your back up and stealing again.
We very clearly linked back to your article and display your name as well. Our attribution reads Thanks “Author” from “Your Blog Site”. We do not make any changes to your posts, we simply publish your RSS feeds as it provided by you from your blog. In addition we add your site/blog under the heading Contributors with a link back to you.
Gee thanks! Your so kind to add us as “Contributors” WITHOUT our permission.
As a webmaster/blogmaster you no doubt know the importance of linking. The more sites that link to you, the more the search engines consider your site a quality reference. XB90 sincerely hopes that the links back to your blog post will increase your search engine traffic and site popularity. If you want, please feel free to add us to your blog roll. Linking back to us will help in making your content, and the your site more popular with the search engines and sites like Technoratti and others.
Plain and simple Mr. Ross Asshole I don’t need, want or desire your help whether its was offered first or not. Your nothing but a content thief wrapped in an Adsense bow. And for such an “expert” on blogging and the importance of links you REALLY should learn how to spell Technorati.
I need to hear back from you if you approve of our aggregation of your content or you wish us to remove your RSS from our site.
I think the above covers it.
Just reply to this email with your url in the subject line and say approve or remove and we will comply promptly with your request.
We feel you will benefit from additional traffic and recognition by inclusion in XB90, BUT if we do not hear from you in the next 7 days, we will stop aggregating your RSS feed in XB90.
Again, your so kind - but I don’t believe a damn word of it. As soon as the unwanted attention goes away your be right back at it.
Your content is excellent and we sincerely hope that you will continue your active blogging with its great articles. More people need to know about you and your information